skip to Main Content


The Materials Handling Engineers Association is running its MHEA Excellence Awards for the second year. Designed to celebrate the talent and creativity of the association’s members and the world class capabilities of its member companies, the awards were well received in 2016.

Free to enter, the awards are open to member companies or individual members who have made an outstanding contribution to the bulk materials handling industry – from ports, power and mining to steel and cement during the past 12 months. Members can also nominate non-members for one of the awards.

Applicants can simply complete the online awards entry form or download the entry pack and submit their entry before the closing date of 31 July 2017.

The awards are divided into the following categories:

  • Innovation Award

An award for the introduction of new technology or improved solution in the bulk materials handling industry.

  • Apprentice of the Year

The Apprentice of the Year Award seeks to acknowledge and celebrate an apprentice’s exceptional occupational progress and their contribution to their workplace during their apprenticeship.  To enter, applicants must be based in the UK and have completed or be in an apprenticeship scheme within the last 12 months.

  • Project of the Year

An award acknowledging a project which has achieved significant success through effective management and delivery approaches.  Awards are considered for projects demonstrating excellence, regardless of size in the bulk materials handling industry.

  • Supplier of the Year

An award recognising exemplary service, performance and customer commitment by a supplier in the bulk materials handling industry.

  • Harold Wright Award

This is the outstanding achievement award. The special award will be presented to a company or individual who the judges consider has made an outstanding contribution to the bulk materials handling industry.

Applicants may enter more than one category, by submitting an entry form for each award.

To enter, please complete the entry form.

Winners will be announced at a gala awards dinner on Wednesday 18 October, the evening of the first day of BULKEX17, the MHEA’s annual conference.

Michael Kaye, Chairman of the MHEA, said: “We ran the MHEA Excellence awards for the first time in 2016 and received many entries from across the bulk handling industry. It was enlightening to read the stories of the superb work that people are doing and judging was tough.

“Please give yourself plenty of time to prepare a winning entry for 2017 complete with evidence to support your nomination for an individual, company or project.

“Last year’s awards dinner was very popular, so I’d urge people to book a place or a table sooner rather than later.”



More Posts

RJM International

The MHEA would like to welcome RJM International as a  valued CorporateMember.       RJM International is a specialist, award-winning provider of a range of innovative and technologically-sophisticated products

Prospare Ltd

Asphalt plant turns to Starclean to reduce clean-up on conveyors Click here to download

MHEA Executive Committee Meeting at Schenck

Left to right: Greg O’Neill,   Dan Shinn (Schenck Processing UK Ltd),  Matt Rodgers (Schenck Processing UK Ltd),  Roy Ball ( Past President),   Neil Stott,   James Bullock (President),   Matt Beverley  (

Fike UK Ltd

The Fike DFITM Explosion Isolation Flap Valve is now available in sizes up to DN1000 and in stainless steel up to DN800!   BLUE SPRINGS, Missouri January 2024: Fike Corporation,

Send Us A Message

Back To Top